top of page

People and Places

Updated: Apr 26, 2020

A little town barely a few thousand families. There were just a handful families of eminence in the Shahr. Although I would only come to know of this much later in life, but there was a clear distinction between natives and relative new arrivals post partition ( called refugees even 15-20 years post partition). It may sound obnoxious or politically incorrect but in 1960s, it was a matter of fact. In that backdrop, I would say I was fortunate that my family (Choudhry Dev Raj and Clan) was considered prominent by everyone's yardstick. With presumed permission, I would enumerate some: Dr. Lakshmi Dutt, Shri Shyam Lal Mehndi Wale, Shri Rattan Lal Garg and Sh. Kuria Mal family, The, Kakkars (Saw Mills), Lala Narayan Prashad Sarraf, Lala Raghbar Dayal and Sons, Lala Mangat Ram,Aadti, Mr. Ojha, Dr. P. C. Seth, Hakim Tek Chand, Hakim Mohan Lal Mehta, Rao Heera lal- Dal Chand, the Salujas, I am sure, I will edit this list with some help. Then there were some iconic businesses. like: Tikaaya Ram Pakore waale ( Later Bajaj Sweets), Krishna Beej Bhandar ( Sh. Ram Lubhaya), Raghbar Devo Halwaai, Prehlad Book Store, Gobind Ram Girdhari Lal Bajaj, Ami Chand Bajaj, the famous Bharbhoojas with their Gajjak and Rewarhi, Vohra Commercial College where everyone learnt typing. Shaaru Naai, Ram Chand Devi Ram, Selling food and full meals was a strange concept because everyone ate at home : Ved Hotel was a trend setter in this regard. My favourite Jai lal for jalebi and Ganes Daas( Ganesa ) for lassi and Kalakand. Every got their "raashan" from Sh. Hari Chand. Fruit seller of prominence was Mukhi Ram but Mottan Ram would have contested that. Of course in this list we should not forget My Alma Mater Faridabad Public School and its Founder Mr Gupta. My Favourite rickshaw guy Mukri. Will write another day about the landmarks of the town and above all my child hood friends.

33 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Sukrit Sharma
Sukrit Sharma
Jan 15, 2022

Amazing emotional effort

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page